Direkt zum Hauptinhalt springen Direkt zum Hauptmenü springen

Bildwortmarke: Deutscher Bundestag German Bundestag



Committees and other bodies in the 19th electoral term

A view of one of the committee rooms

A view of one of the committee rooms

© German Bundestag/Marc-Steffen Unger

The German Bundestag established 23 permanent committees on 17 January 2018, which then held their constituent sittings on 31 January and commenced their work. These were joined on 25 April 2018 by a 24th committee in the form of the Committee on Building, Housing, Urban Development and Local Government. In addition, a committee of inquiry on the terrorist attack of 19 December 2016 at the Christmas market on Breitscheidplatz in Berlin was established on 1 March 2018, the Parliamentary Advisory Council on Sustainable Development on 25 April 2018 and the Study Commissions "Artificial Intelligence – Social Responsibility and Economic Potential" and "Vocational Training" on 28 June 2018.

On 21 November 2017, the Bundestag had already set up a Main Committee with 47 members, a Committee for the Scrutiny of Elections, Immunity and the Rules of Procedure, and a Petitions Committee for the period until the establishment of the permanent committees. The Main Committee was dissolved on 31 January 2018 once the 23 permanent committees had met for their constituent sittings.