Direkt zum Hauptinhalt springen Direkt zum Hauptmenü springen



Conference of Parlia­mentary Committees for Union Affairs of Par­liaments of the EU (COSAC)

A meeting of COSAC

COSAC comprises representatives of the national parliaments of the EU Member States and the European Parliament

© Communautes Europeennes 2003

COSAC is the Conference of Parliamentary Committees for Union Affairs of Parliaments of the European Unio. COSAC is made up of six representatives from each of the national parliaments of the 28 EU Member States and six representatives of the European Parliament. The parliaments of the candidate and acceding countries each delegate three parliamentarians as observers to its conferences. COSAC meets every six months in the country that currently holds the EU presidency. Meetings of committee chairs are held in advance of the full COSAC meetings.

Founded in 1989 in Paris as an informal forum for talks between national parliaments, COSAC was granted a more permanent status in 1997 by the Protocol to the Treaty of Amsterdam on the role of national parliaments in the European Union. Within the German Bundestag, responsibility for questions relating to COSAC lies with the Secretariat of the Committee on the Affairs of the European Union.