Direkt zum Hauptinhalt springen Direkt zum Hauptmenü springen

Bildwortmarke: Deutscher Bundestag German Bundestag



An experienced Member of the Bundestag from Brandenburg: Dagmar Ziegler

Dagmar Ziegler

Vice-President Dagmar Ziegler

© German Bundestag / Marco Urban

Dagmar Ziegler (SPD) was elected Vice-President of the German Bundestag on 26 November 2020. She had been put forward by her parliamentary group as a successor for Bundestag Vice-President Thomas Oppermann, who passed away on 25 October 2020.

Member of the Bundestag since 2009

Ziegler has been in the Bundestag since 2009, as a Member from Brandenburg. She was initially deputy chair of the SPD parliamentary group, responsible for family affairs, senior citizens, women and youth, education and the economic reconstruction of Eastern Germany, and in 2013 became parliamentary secretary of the SPD group. She represents the constituency of Prignitz – Ostprignitz-Ruppin – Havelland I.

Degree in financial management

Dagmar Ziegler was born on 28 September 1960 in Leipzig. After completing her degree in financial management in Berlin, she worked as a financial economist at the Leipzig branch of the State bank of the GDR from 1984 to 1987 and was an economist at the agricultural production cooperative in Lenzen an der Elbe, Prignitz from 1987 to 1990. It was there that she founded the first local branch of the SPD, one year after the fall of the Wall. Three years later, the citizens of Lenzen elected her honorary mayor for a period of five years.

Member of the Landtag and Minister at Land level

In 1994 Dagmar Ziegler was elected to the Brandenburg Landtag, going on to become deputy chairwoman the SPD parliamentary group there in 1997, as well as financial policy spokeswoman. In 2000 Brandenburg’s Minister-President Manfred Stolpe appointed her Finance Minister. In 2004, she took on the role of Minister of Labour, Health, and Social and Family Affairs under subsequent Minister-President Matthias Platzeck. She was deputy chairwoman of the Brandenburg branch of the SPD from 2000 until 2008, became a member of the Prignitz country council in 2008 and was chairwoman of the Prignitz sub-district branch of the SPD from 2004 to 2010.