24. Oktober 2017 Wolfgang Schäuble elected new President of the Bundestag

Dr Wolfgang Schäuble is the new President of the Bundestag. On Tuesday, 24 October, the Members of the newly elected 19th German Bundestag voted with a large majority for the former Federal Finance Minister at the constituent sitting. Schäuble thus takes over from Professor Norbert Lammert, who did not stand for re-election after 37 years in Parliament.